International

Crushings increase

Oil World's tabulation of oilseed crushings in 28 countries totaled 118.5 million metric tons during the 12 months ending September 1982. The previous high was 112.3 million metric tons recorded for the 1979/80 season.

The 28 nations included Western Europe, the United States, Canada, Argentina, Brazil, China, India, Japan, Malaysia, the Philippines and Senegal.

Oil production for 1981/82 totaled 25.57 million metric tons, compared to 27.19 million metric tons the previous year. Soybean oil was the most plentiful, totaling 12.32 million metric tons, followed by rapeseed (40.15 million metric tons), sunflower (34.47), cottonseed (24.66), peanut (21.48), and coconut (18.96).

Irish oil facility to reopen

Ireland's only oil crushing facility—the Irish Oil and Cake Mills plant in Drogheda—was expected to reopen this year after two years closure, according to a report from USDA attache Margaret Mason in Dublin.

The plant, which formerly crushed copra, has been refitted to crush rapeseed, the report said. Ireland grows about 4,000 acres of rapeseed a year, which the oil facility feels is enough to make crushing operations profitable. About 5,000 tons of seed are expected to be crushed by the end of 1982. Reopening is partially financed by the Irish Development Authority (IDA).

The IDA reportedly also is considering helping build a soybean crushing plant. The proposed \$12 million project would finance a solvent extraction plant that could produce 125,000 tons of meal and 25,000 tons of oil annually. Ireland imported 226,000 tons of soybean meal and 16,000 tons of soy oil during 1981.

Bangladesh lifts duties

The government of Bangladesh has removed excise duties on vegetable oils. The action, effective this past July 1, in effect removed a \$5.10 per metric ton duty for refined vegetable oil and about \$51 per metric ton for vegetable ghee. Also removed was a 35% import duty on tin containers used for refined vegetable oil products.

Argentine elected

Ernesto Y. Parellada of Argentina is the new president for the International Sunflower Association which will hold its 11th international conference in Argentina during 1985.

Andrew W. Barr of Australia is vice president and Colin Seccombe of Australia is the new secretary general/treasurer for the group. Australia was the site of the 10th conference earlier this year, with Barr serving as ISA president. New North American representative is Don Lilleboe, editor of the National Sunflower Association magazine, Sunflower. Waldemar E. Sackston of Canada is a new member of the executive committee. Holdover members include Valentin I. Svyatko of the Soviet Union, Tihomir Brebalow of Yugoslavia and Jose Fernandeh Martinex of Spain.

People

Appointments

Former AOCS National Secretary Jack W. McEwan is officially a consultant following his retirement as chief chemist for edible oils for Central Soya Co. Inc., in Decatur, Indiana.... The Chemical Products Division of Cargill Inc. has appointed Donald I. Jordan to western regional sales manager of the resins group.... Robert T. Betz has been appointed director of operations of Emery Industries. He was formerly general manager of Emery's Business Groups.... John H. Watt has been appointed treasurer of NL Industries Inc.... The Color Communications Group of Macbeth, a division of Kollmorgen Corporation, has announced the following appointments: Ellen A. Gerrity, as northeastern region applications engineer; Will Tom Brown, Jr., as applications engineer; Frederick J. Baldwin as na-

tional sales manager; Joseph Alderdice, Jr., as regional sales manager for the southeast region... William Becker has been named senior salesman at Anderson International Corp. of Cleveland, Ohio... Stephen D. Bechtel, Jr., has been elected chairman of the National Academy of Engineering. Bechtel is chairman of Bechtel Group Inc. of San Francisco, California.

Death

Emeritus member A.W. Thomas

AOCS has been informed of the March 22, 1982, death of emeritus member Arthur W. Thomas of New York. Dr. Thomas was a professor of chemistry at Columbia University before his retirement in 1963. He first joined AOCS in 1924.